Startup or Corporate Job? (3 of 3)

In this series, I explore crucial considerations in deciding between going startup or getting a corporate job. The first post is here.

Work does not matter, life matters.

“What kind of life do you want?”

I’ve asked many people around me about this. Most of them reply that they wish they “don’t have to work.”

I’m not sure how much truth are there in the answer. Do they dislike “work-in-itself” or their work? Do they really wish for “a life without work” if they’re financially sound? I know people jumping into startup because they don’t want to work.

I didn’t have the answer when I resigned. However, I knew clearly that life with a corporate job in HK isn’t what I want. So I resigned and moved to Shanghai.

Is that negative? I do not think so. To me, it’s more like to sail before I know a destination. Now in Shanghai, I’m gathering parts together to make my life.

3 months ago, I knew no angel investors, no VC, no potential tech co-founders. All I had was ideas and some very basic coding skills. Passion and dream. Questions, puzzles and a bit of excitements. No fear tho, thanks to my life experience and lessons learned from it.

Now in Shanghai, I’ve got to know some angels, lots of entrepreneurs. I’m living a fulfilling life that I join a startup as cofounder, volunteering in a social enterprise and contributing articles on a cross-culture website.[1]

I know I couldn’t have this life if I go back to HK after Chengdu, take up the role that’s arranged for me. I didn’t know what’s in front of me but soon after I depart, pieces start falling into place.

big world
The world is so big. Why don’t travel and see what you get? Does it really matter to fail even for a few times?

[1] Startup: we help people go online aboard without roaming. Social enterprise: helping GoodtoChina to organize a 500 people bike ride in Shanghai. Cross-cultural website: Blossom Everywhere, started by my Philosophy friends and contributors come all over the world.

Startup or Corporate Job? (3 of 3)

Leave a comment