Startup or Corporate Job? (1 of 3)

I worked in a Fortune 100 as a Hi-Po for three and a half years. I resigned last December and moved on to explore the startup world. When I made the decision, I listed what matter most to me.

Size does not matter, growth matters.

I was running a small eBay biz before I joined this company. I couldn’t scale it and I get bored. So I thought it would be more fun to engage in large corporate because it’s a big playground.

I thought it’s the poor little size of my eBay biz that makes me bored but it’s not true. It’s the lack of momentum. The key is whether you are growing in a business.

Startup isn’t equivalent with growth and corporate isn’t equivocal with boredom. Ultimately I think it’s the sense of personal growth that matters, and it depends on way too many things rather than company size.

I resigned because I experienced a plateau of “scalability” in my own, just the same as in my previous biz. In both case, it is not “giving up” because I look for significant growth for every jump.

motivation leap of faith

Startup or Corporate Job? (1 of 3)

4 thoughts on “Startup or Corporate Job? (1 of 3)

Leave a comment